Tastes of Portugal by Anna Gil

I’ve already been here in Lisbon for one month and by now, each time I’ve called my mom she asked me: “What are you eating there?”, “Please take care and eat regularly”. So, just as an explanation for her, and for those interested, I decided to write a piece about the Portuguese cuisine.

250px-Pastéis_de_BelémAs in Pecs, Hungary I gained four kilos during my four-month stay there I’m sure here I’ll gain at least three – so one kilo per one month. Why? Because temptation’s waiting for you on every corner!  And as Oscar wild said ”The only way to get rid of a temptation is to yield to it”. And It’s not a joke – I’m talking about “pastelerías” –  typical for Portugal cake shops with coffee and delicious Pastel de Nata. And “the worst” thing, there’s a bakery open all night in the building opposite my house. But it’s not politically correct to start from dessert so let me go back to the beginning.

Source: https://www.google.pt

First thing I’ve noticed is that Portuguese have their meals at different time and in different portions, comparing to Poles.  Contrary to us they have small breakfasts and big dinners/suppers. It’s also very popular to drink coffee even at 11pm.

To have a good morning it’s worth trying queijo da serra – a type of cheese and chouriço (chorizo) – typical sausages.

20140121_002211The major influence on the Portuguese cuisine has the ocean. That’s why the king of the table is bacalhau (cod fish) accompanied by a great variety of other fish and shellfish and molluscs, such as clams, mussels, oysters, periwinkles, and scallops. During my Fado dinner, with this characteristic sentiment of resignation, sorrow and melancholy I had a chance to try Bacalhau and á Brás Porco assado -codfish with French fries and roast pork with potatoes. It is said that there are more than 365 ways to prepare cod, one for every day of the year. One time my Brazilian friend Clara made for us a fried cod with potatoes and onion in tomato – wine sauce. You can see the result in the picture.

Alfama is a rabbit warren where the time stops – it’s a great neighborhood with plenty of bars and restaurants – in one of them, with old furniture and azulejos on the walls, I tried Rojões à moda do Minho com arroz de sarrabulho – a diced and fried pork with blood rice.

Last Monday ESN Lisboa – a student organization, arranged the Portuguese euronight with a lot of dishes, you can see them in the pictures below. My favorite one is rice pudding decorated with cinnamon – arroz doce. It was also a chance to hear a special guest band: ArquitecTuna – Tuna from Faculty of Architecture (University of Lisbon)

1798778_624249980962737_67225464_n  1898269_624249784296090_1094439233_n 1902856_624249860962749_1440674096_n

 

Source:  https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.624248324296236.1073741881.369533256434412&type=1

I still have time to try: soup – caldo verde, sardnihas assadas-  grilled sardines or meia-desfeita – cod with chickpeas.

When it comes to beverages, for me, after Hungarian, Georgian and French wine, it was an opportunity to try Portuguese one – Porto – and I’m not disappointed.

Ok, I’m hungry now so it’s time to go to Pasteleria.

Bon appetite!

Leave a Reply

